Bookbinding Workshop

img_9851

I was really excited to do the bookbinding workshop as I thought we would be learning more advanced techniques than we had learned in the past. However this was not the case as it was a basic bookbinding induction that I have had at Leeds College of Art before.

Although I knew how to do everything in the workshop already, I decided to take it as an opportunity to improve my skills and perfect those techniques.

The first technique we did was pamphlet stitch which I know like the back of my hand. I know all the things I needed to do to make sure my edges were straight and the book didn’t slide around. I couldn’t see where I could improve my making skills for this book because I feel as if I have already mastered it.

 

After this we moved onto a stab stitch bind. Although I have done a lot of stab stitch in the past, I know there are parts of it I can improve in. Something that I have never done before that Suzie showed us was starting the bind in the middle of the book so that the knot could be pushed into the spine. This makes the book so much neater and is definitely a technique I will adopt into my own process.

 

Finally we made a hard cover concertina book. Despite knowing how to make them, I have never been able to make a good concertina book, I can never get the pages to align properly. Suzie said the best way to solve this is just to be careful and precise when doing it so I shall have to practice more to improve my techniques.

 

img_9927

After making our 3 books, Suzie showed us a box of example books. This one particularly caught my eye because I’ve been trying to work out how to do a hard cover stab stitch bind for ages. Looking at this made me realise I need to put a hinge into the greyboard before binding it in bookrim and sewing the book together.

The other one that caught my eye was this colourful concertina book. I have made this style of concertina before but only with blank pages so seeing how colour and content would work in context of it was really interesting. I would really like to experiment with digitally printed content for a book bound this way.

I may have had this workshop before, during foundation but there were small things and ways of improving I learnt from it that were really useful.

Leave a Reply

