Tutorial with David

Because of a clash between my tutorial and print workshop, I missed my tutorial with Dave and arranged to meet with David instead to discuss my work.

I showed him what I’d been doing over summer and how that was informing what I am working on and working towards now. I also showed him my prints and type pieces and how I’ve been going over them several times to improve them and correct my mistakes.

He told me that this refining process I’ve been going through is exactly what I need to be doing, constantly identifying areas for improvement and working on them.

We also discussed the way I have been drawing everything I do, every workshop back to type and bringing improving my handmade type into every workshop. He said this was a good way of making the workshops work for me and keeping everything as a solid, relevant stream of skills improvement.

Going forward, I just need to keep on track with what I’m doing, drawing type, making pieces, being hypercritical of my mistakes and improving them.

Leave a Reply

