Pecha Kucha

When making my Pecha Kucha, I wrote some speaking notes down so I would know what to say when I was presenting it.

pk

1 – When I found out we were going to Rome, I knew what I wanted to do. I’ve wanted to go to Rome for about 11 years now. It’s a place of history, culture, food, literature, art. I love the Romans, I love the Borgias, I love Machiavelli, I love pizza. Rome is the home of a lot of things I really love. I want to see everything.

 

pk2

2 – I made a list of what I wanted to see. I saw all of the historical sites and none of the modern things. The historical sites were the most important. There wasn’t time to see everything I wanted to see.

 

pk3

3 – Ever since I was a kid, I’ve always love the Romans and wanted to see the Colosseum. Gladiator is one of my favourite movies and gladiatorial combat is a part of history I’ve read a lot about. It’s hard to believe somewhere so beautiful was somewhere where so many people died.

 

pk4

4 – Finding out there was a cat sanctuary on the spot where Julius Caesar died was great. The had over 150 cats there. One of the highlights of the trip. I could’ve happily lived there with all the cats.

 

pk5

5 – A huge reason I was excited to come to Rome is because the 3rd Assassin’s Creed game is set there and I wanted to walk around the city I had explored in the game. The game designers accurately constructed the maps for the city based on maps of Rome both from now and the time the game is set. That meant everywhere I was walking in game was the same distance as in real life. This accuracy not only made the game amazing but it made my experience of Rome more amazing because I connected with it more.

 

pk6

6 – I spent a day on my own to go to the site of the assassin’s hideout. I was expecting that it wouldn’t have changed much because the island is so small and it would be hard to build new things on but it has changed quite a bit. There are some buildings that are the same but many are different.

 

pk7

7 – The Castello di San Angelo is where Hadrian is buried. I’ve been to Hadrian’s wall so it was really interesting to see where he was buried as he’s such a big part of British history as well as Roman. It was used by the Borgias as a fortress and housed the papal armies for a short time.

 

pk8

8 – The museum was amazing, there was so much to see. I felt like I couldn’t take it all in because my eyes weren’t big enough and I couldn’t process it quickly enough. With all the crowds as well, you were pushed along very quickly.

 

pk9

9 – The ceilings were my favourite part. They were as much art as the art exhibited. Everything about the rooms was painted and decadent and I loved every second of it.

 

pk10

10 – I didn’t get to see St Peter’s which was a shame but I saw the outside and it was so beautiful.

 

pk11

11 – The Sistine Chapel made me tear up, it was so overwhelming to be there. Everyone was quite and collectively standing there awestruck.

 

pk12

12 – I realised why I wasn’t that interested in the Trevi fountain before coming and it’s because it was built 200 years after the events of Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood, a huge motivation for going to a lot of the sites I wanted to see. I went to it 3 times. I wanted to stay and sit by it forever. It was so beautiful, I wasn’t expecting it to be nearly so big.

 

pk13

13 – The Pantheon was really shabby on the outside so I wasn’t expecting it to be so beautifully preserved inside. It was so huge. Raphael and two kings are buried there so it’s a pretty important site.

 

pk14

14 – I did more that 12 of the list of 20 things to do/see. They were easy to do and I didn’t really have to go out of my way to do any of them.

 

pk15

15 – These were the books I got plus a painting of the Castello di San Angelo on the Tiber.

 

pk16

16 – There were loads of cute shops and things to explore if you slowed down and looked around. Really liked this one near the Pantheon.

 

pk17

17 – Most valuable part of the trip, what I will take away, is my friendships with people, especially Molly and Amy. The whole thing was better than I could have hoped and all I could’ve wished for was more time.

Leave a Reply

