Books and social media – Bookstagram

I started looking into how people promote and recommend books. A huge way that books are promoted these days is through social media.

Some people have begun promoting the books they love on Instagram and they’ve been named ‘Bookstagrammers’. These people take beautiful photos of books, often with objects relating to the books either in content or colour or general aesthetic.

I think this is a good way of recommending books but many Bookstagramers that I’ve seen don’t put a synopsis or a detailed review so I don’t know how effective it is. However, because of Instagram’s comment feature, people can comment to say if they’ve read the book, if they like it, if they want to read it and it helps to form a community.

I do think that Bookstagram is a good thing for people who already love books and are book collectors but I don’t know if it would be effective for non-readers or people who don’t collect books.

My response

I decided to try taking some photos in the style of many Bookstagrammers with objects I had that related to the books themselves.

I haven’t posted these on my Instagram yet but I think I will so I can get feedback on how effective they are in persuading people to read these books.

Leave a Reply

