Relief covers

I experimented with lasercut greyboard, bookrim and bookcloth to see if I could make some relief covers that were textured.

I lasercut letters out of one piece of greyboard and stuck them on another. After this I put a piece of bookrim or bookcloth over each and used a bone folder to shaper it around the letters.

The cut out one worked better in bookcloth than bookrim because when I tried to push in the bookrim, it punctured, split or stretched whereas the bookcloth held together and just shaped around the letters. The same was true of bookcloth on the stuck on pieces, it held better than the bookrim overall.

The bookrim didn’t hold as well as I would have liked on either of them, but I think if I did it slowly and meticulously, it could work on the one with the letters stuck on really well.

Leave a Reply

