InDesign – Laying out my book

Once I had cleaned up my final illustrations in photoshop, I began to layout my book in InDesign. Because I sketched where I wanted my illustrations to go and planned around that, it was simple enough to put them into InDesign. However this meant that my options for layout were pretty limited so I just had to fit the text around them.

I really liked the simplicity of Minion Pro contrasting with the complicated, metaphorical narrative so it was a perfect choice for the text. The arrangement of the text was completely dependent on the illustrations. Where there was no illustration on the page, I put the text central, but with all of the others, I had to go off what fit around the illustrations best as I knew what I wanted them to look like and how I wanted them positioned

I knew exactly what I wanted from my book once it was in InDesign, thanks to extensive development and detailed talks with Freya, it was easy to just put it all together ready for printing.

Leave a Reply

