Ceramics

We began our ceramics workshop by making tiles around the theme of cities and signs. I really liked the type that they had and as I’ve been doing work in a circular format, I decided to use that for my tiles.

I started by making tiles with the names of cities all mashed together on a tile with various type. I quite like them because it’s like the chaos and bustle of these cities is portrayed in the way I set the letters and how I’ve used several different types to create my tiles.

 

After this I made a series of tiles based on the chapter titles in Invisible cities.

I really like the simplicity of these but for some of them like 6 and 7, they look a bit overcrowded on the tile.

After this we made mugs. I decided that I didn’t want a handle on mine and I’d use the eye stamp I used earlier to make a pattern inspired by the books, A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket.

WP_20151021_14_28_57_ProWP_20151021_14_29_09_Pro

This was a good workshop but ceramics isn’t really my area of choice so I’m not sure how often I will be using this workshop.

Leave a Reply

