Statement of intent

The thing that drew me to Visual communication was a desire to make art and design around the idea of social, political and economical activism, focusing specifically on the themes of the LGBT+ community and their struggles for equality, mental health and feminism. I hope that my time studying this degree will help me develop my skills and make connections in this area so that I can pursue a career helping the people affected by these themes and present them in a way that raises awareness and brings an understanding of them to people who aren’t affected by them or knowledgeable about them.

I find typography and graphic design a very elegant and informative way to express this kind of information to people so over this year I would like to significantly improve my skill level in both of these so I can clearly and beautifully communicate my ideas in a way that is easy for people to understand. I also have a great interest in screen printing so I would like to build upon the knowledge I already have and experiment further with printing techniques.

Leave a Reply

